The Runner’s Christmas List

Ladies and gents, it’s that time of year.  CHRISTMAS time!  Well, almost.  We still have Thanksgiving as a warm up for all the holiday festivities.  Not sure what it is, but I am extra excited for this year.

One thing that stresses me out every year is trying to find the perfect gift for everyone.  Sometimes I have epiphanies, and the rest of the time, well, it’s a process.  This year, I’m here to help you guys with some gift ideas for the runner in your life!  (Not going to judge if that special runner is yourself!)

Garmin – I don’t even want to remember what my running life was like without my Garmin.  I use the Forerunner 110 and I’m not sure what I would do without it.  The 110 is fairly basic but gets the job done.  One important point with the 110 is that it does not calculate instantaneous speed, but does your pace over the current mile.  For me, that is enough.  The best part of the fabulous Garmin?  The beep at each mile, especially the one at the end 🙂

iPod Shuffle – When I started running, I used my iPod classic faithfully.  Every run, it was there with me.  But seriously, that thing is bulky!  It may not seem like it, but after 15 miles of having that thing strapped to your arm you’ll be ready to throw it off the next bridge.  Enter the iPod Shuffle.  Small enough to clip to my shirt or fit into my pocket when I don’t feel like listening to music.

Headlamp – I don’t own one of these, yet, but as the days are getting shorter I may have to snag one.  I ran the other morning with several friends all wearing headlamps and they kept the path well-lit.  And don’t forget about the other part of the visibility equation – being seen.  A headlamp will help you been seen by runners, bikers, and vehicles.  A must have for night running.

iFitness Belt– Back at the Vancouver USA Marathon Expo, I purchased my first iFitness Belt, AKA not-a-fanny-pack.  I fell in love.  I have the double belt, meaning that I have enough room for a phone, camera, ID, and nutrition.  I am actually on my second belt because as awesome as it is, the belt is not impervious to dog chewing.  I loved my iFitness Belt so much that I immediately ordered a replacement.

I'm sure you all assumed it was, but this is actually not my stomach.

Road ID – Safety is the name of the game, folks.  Often I will run carrying my driver’s license just in case the unthinkable happens.  However, even with my ID, rescuers would only know my name, address, and be able to look up my driving record.  Enter the Road ID.  My road ID shows my name, home city, birth year, my father and husband’s names/phone numbers, and that I have no known allergies.  Should something happen to me, they will know just who to call.  Also, if I had any serious medical conditions, I would be very glad that the pertinent information was waiting for them right on my wrist.  I personally have a bracelet, but they also sell anklets and shoe tags.

Hi Viz running shirt – A while back, I headed to my local outdoor store to by a gorgeous and stylish bright orange vest to wear over my running clothes so that cars could see me and be jealous of my hotness.  Instead, I left the store with an actually stylish bright green long sleeve Brooks running shirt.  I debated with myself that even though the shirt cost more, I was at least 50 million times more likely to wear it.  50 million is a big number.  I’ve linked to the actual shirt above, but any Hi Viz clothing will do.  Bonus points – bright colors are much easier to see when spectating races!

See? It's very pretty.

Airline gift cards – I actually did this for my birthday last year.  Knowing that I would be flying to DC for the Marine Corps Marathon in the fall, I requested Southwest Airlines gift cards for my birthday.  It worked out great!  Half of my flight was paid for and my family got to help support my racing in a different way.

Race entry fees – Costs to enter so many awesome races can add up.  Treat your runner to a race.

Gift certificate for race support on the big day – This can be an amazing gift and can be done for little to no money at all.  Race morning requires transportation, an extra set of hands, moral support, photography skills, and just about everything else under the sun.  Give the gift  of this support to your favorite runner!

Note: Except as noted I have used all of these products and the opinions expressed are my own.  I am not receiving any compensation for mentioning these products. 

Tags: , ,